Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees (BofT) is the governing body of the Society and is responsible for the strategy, the policies and monitoring the financial stability of the Society. The Board is charged with delivering the overall goals and objectives in line with the objects of the Royal Charter.

Trustees 2017.jpg

The Board of Trustees is composed of the President, President-Elect, Immediate Past President, three members of Council from amongst its elected members and three independent trustees.

Martin Broadhurst FRAeS

Martin Broadhurst is the Chair of the Trustees.

Martin was educated at William Hulm's School and Fitzwilliam College, Cambridge. He Joined Marshall Aerospace as a Management Trainee in 1975 and following a number of roles with the company, including Production Director and Director of Programmes, was appointed as Chief Executive in February 1996. During his time as Chief Executive he served on the Group Holdings Board and was Chairman of a number of subsidiary companies.

Following his retirement from his role as Chief Executive of Marshall Aerospace, he was appointed, during the early part of 2011, as Chairman of the Centre for Engineering and Manufacturing Excellence (CEME) and was elected to the Governing Council of the Royal Aeronautical Society and served as Chairman of the Membership Services Board. Martin is also Vice President of the Cambridge Branch of the Society.

Martin was awarded the OBE in the 2004 Queen's Birthday Honours List for services to the Aerospace Industry and is a Freeman of the City of London. He qualified as a Chartered Director in 2006.

Rear Adm Simon Henley CEng FRAeS

Rear Adm Simon Henley serves on the Board of Trustees as the RAes President Elect.

Simon joined the Royal Navy directly from school and underwent initial officer training at Britannia Royal Naval College Dartmouth, followed by studying for a degree in Mechanical Engineering at the Royal Naval Engineering College in Manadon, Plymouth followed by 12 months post-graduate training in Aerospace Engineering.

He served as an Aircraft Engineer Officer in the Royal Navy for 32 years, retiring in the rank of Rear Admiral. During his career, he served in operational roles supporting front line squadrons on several helicopter types and Sea Harrier, and towards the end of his career specialised in future logistic support requirements for new aircraft and ships, and then in major project acquisition. He served as the UK lead in the US/UK Joint Strike Fighter Programme Office, was the UK lead in participation in the source selection process for that programme, and subsequently led the UK’s Joint Combat Aircraft Integrated Project Team for 4 years. His last job before retirement was as Technical Director and head of Programme Management for the Defence Equipment and Support organisation.

He subsequently joined Rolls-Royce as Programme Director for new programmes in Defence Aerospace, with responsibility for development and transition to production of the LiftSystem for the F-35 Lightning 2 programme, the UK elements of the F-136 engine for that aircraft and the TP400 engine for A400M, and the propulsion systems for the Mantis and Taranis unmanned programmes. Later he expanded his portfolio to include all Rolls-Royce military helicopter engines. In 2010 he was seconded to the Rolls-Royce/Snecma/MTU/ITP joint venture Europrop International as President, responsible for the development, certification, and introduction to service of the TP400 engine for the A400M aircraft, culminating in the delivery of the first aircraft to the French Air Force in 2013. After leaving Rolls-Royce in 2014, he has worked as VP Programmes for an aircraft interior company developing and delivering the galleys for the Airbus A350, and subsequently as Director (Special Projects) for Marshall Aerospace and Defence Group.

He is a Chartered Aerospace Engineer, a Registered Project Professional, an Honorary Fellow of the Association for Project Management, and a Fellow of the Royal Aeronautical Society.

Prof Jonathan Cooper CEng FRAeS

Professor Jonathan Cooper is the Airbus Royal Academy of Engineering Sir George White Professor of Aerospace Engineering at the University of Bristol, UK. He gained his PhD in 1988 from the University of London in Vibration Testing of Aircraft Structures. Jonathan started his career at the Royal Aerospace Establishment Farnborough, and then worked at the Universities of Manchester and Liverpool before moving to Bristol in 2012. He has published more than 300 journal and conference papers, is the co-author of the Wiley textbook Introduction to Aircraft Aeroelasticity and Loads, and has supervised over 35 PhD students.

His research interests are in the areas of aeroelasticity and structural dynamics, helping to develop novel aircraft designs and configurations that will meet the future environmental and financial constraints as well as enabling multi-disciplinary and multi-scale aircraft structural designs to be optimized in an efficient manner. His research team is considering topics covering: aeroelastic tailoring using composite materials, morphing structures, nonlinear dynamics, gust loads alleviation, active flutter suppression, system identification and multi-level design. Of particular note is the Marie Curie ITN Network on Aircraft Loads Prediction (ALPES) which is led by Prof Cooper.

Jonathan has a long association with the Royal Aeronautical Society. As well as becoming chair of the Professional Standards Board in June 2015, he is vice-chair of the Structures and Materials Committee, sits on Council, is a member of the Accreditation Committee and also the local Bristol Branch Committee.

Air Chief Marshal Sir Stephen Dalton CEng FRAeS

Air Chief Marshal Sir Stephen Dalton serves on the Board of Trustees as the RAes President.

Sir Stephen joined the Royal Air Force in 1976 after graduating with an honours degree in Aeronautical Engineering from Bath University. His early career was spent as a frontline pilot on the Jaguar and Tornado aircraft before he was promoted and appointed as Director of the Eurofighter (Typhoon) Programme Assurance Group in the Ministry of Defence.

In May 2007, Air Chief Marshal Dalton was appointed as the strategic personnel (HR) director for the Royal Air Force and he was promoted Air Chief Marshal in April 2009 and became Chief of the Air Staff in July 2009. He was appointed a Knight Commander of the Most Honourable Order of the Bath (KCB) in 2009 and advanced to Knight Grand Cross of the Order of the Bath (GCB) in 2012. He stood down as Chief of the Air Staff in July 2013.

Lt Cdr Richard Gearing MRAeS

Richard serves on the Board of Trustees as an elected member of the Council.

Dr Alisdair Wood FRAeS

Alisdair serves on the Board of Trustees as an elected member of the Council.

Sir John O'Reilly FRAeS

Sir John serves on the Board of Trustees as an independent Trustee. Sir John is also Chair of the Audit & Compliance Committee.

Jane Middleton FRAeS

Jane serves on the Board of Trustees as an independent Trustee. She is also chair of the Society's Finance Committee

Sarah Moynihan CRAeS

Sarah serves on the Board of Trustees as an independent Trustee.