The Council

Council, concentrates on managing the professional, technical and learned society affairs of the Society. It works alongside the Board of Trustees in supporting the direction and leadership required to achieve, the key objectives within the Strategic Plan. The Council has key role in increasing and maintaining the influence, respect and reputation of the Society globally, and sustaining and developing the body of knowledge and learned output. The Council is made up of The President, President-Elect, Immediate Past-President, Presidents of our global divisions, Chairman of the Branches and Specialists Group Committee as well as eighteen members elected by the Society.

The Council is responsible for the Nominations Committee; Centennial Scholarship Committee; Foundation Committee; Medals & Awards Committee Policy Committee and the Heritage Awards Committee.


The Council were presented with a Heritage Award plaque to commemorate the Society's 150th anniversary.