The Ian Fleming Lecture

13 September 2016 - 13 July 2016

Great Hall - University House, Australian National University, 1 Balmain Crescent, Acton ACT


The Ian Fleming lecture is the Branch’s premier event and it is held on a biennial basis. The format of the evening is that we have the presentation followed by questions. At around 7pm we will retire to the foyer for drinks and canapés. This allows the staff to set up for dinner, which is expected to commence around 7.30pm.

The naming of the Ian Fleming lecture and dinner honours Ian B. Fleming, OBE, a notable Australian aviation engineer. After completing studies at Sydney and Cambridge Universities, Ian Fleming worked on the development of the Boomerang fighter at the Commonwealth Aircraft Corporation during World War 2. In the early 1950s, he worked at the Government Aircraft Factory where he was responsible for the design and development of the Jindivik target aircraft. Subsequently, he moved to the Department of Defence Production, which was later amalgamated into the Department of Supply. As Controller of Aircraft and Guided Weapons he had oversight of the licenced manufacture of the Mirage, Macchi, and Bell LOH aircraft programs; the indigenous production of the Nomad aircraft and the Ikara and Turana missiles; and the continuous reviews of the shape and role of the Australian Defence Aircraft Industry. He retired in the late 1970s and died in 1993.

The Chief of the Air Force, Air Marshal Leo Davies, AO, CSC, will be the presenter at the 2016 Ian Fleming dinner.  He will present on progress made in the implementation of Plan Jericho, which seeks to exploit the full potential of new capabilities and systems and transform the Air Force into an integrated, networked force.

Dress code: Lounge suit. Ticketing pricing and other information

Corporate Sponsors wishing to reserve a table of eight should contact either Keirin Joyce on 0410685260 or Jon Pike on 0414272778.

Speaker Details

Air Marshal Leo Davies, AO, CSC

Air Marshal Leo Davies, AO, CSC


Great Hall - University House, Australian National University, 1 Balmain Crescent, Acton ACT