South Africa Division

The Aeronautical Society of South Africa was formed in 1911 by John Weston. A Branch of The Royal Aeronautical Society was established in the Union of South Africa in 1945 under the name The Royal Aeronautical Society (Southern Africa Branch), and in 1949 the Branch was granted the status of a Division of the Royal Aeronautical Society under the name 'The Royal Aeronautical Society (Southern Africa Division)'. In 2001 the South African Institute of Aerospace Engineering (AeSSA) and the Royal Aeronautical Division merged, and this new South African organisation was registered as a Section 21 Company

The Division has a number of named lectures that pay tribute to pioneers in SA: John Weston Lecture biennial alternating with the Frank Carnell Lecture Major Allister Miller Lecture biennial alternating with the Sir Pierre van Ryneveld Lecture.

SA Division Contacts: 

President: Glen Snedden FRAeS