In January 1956 the Christchurch Branch of the Royal Aeronautical Society was formed with an initial membership of 146, primarily de Havilland employees working at what was previously the old Airspeed factory. The Christchurch Branch received strong support from de Havilland and the Branch’s first President was W A Tamblin, de Havilland’s Chief Designer at Christchurch. In 1979 the Christchurch Branch introduced the biennial Sir Alan Cobham named lecture to honour the pioneering work of the founder of Flight Refuelling.

Contact Details:

President: Doug Wilson
Chairman: Mel Porter
Secretary: Roger Starling
Contact: Roger Starling


 Branch Profile:

Useful Resource:

Dorset Aviation Past and Present


Click here for the Christchurch Branch 2017/2018 Lecture Programme and Summer Newsletter