Honours, Medals & Awards

The Royal Aeronautical Society recognises the importance celebrating achievement, innovation and excellence across the aerospace, aeronautics, aviation and space communities. Every year, Honours, Medals and Specialist Awards are bestowed on individuals and teams for advances and contributions to aerospace art, science and engineering.

Who qualifies for an Honour, Medal or Award?

The Society's Honours, Medals and Awards recognise the innovation and excellence of both individuals and teams. They are conferred for achievements and contributions in all disciplines of the global aerospace industry. Anyone and any team that has made an exceptional contribution to aerospace anywhere in the world whether for example, in academia, aerospace, manufacturing, air transport, air traffic control, defence, government or research is eligible. Nominations are encouraged from both members and non-members of the Society.

Who can nominate for an Honour, Medal or Award?

Any individual, working in any area of aerospace, anywhere in the world, can nominate another individual or team they know by taking a few minutes to complete the simple nomination form.

How do I nominate?

1) Please read the Guideline notes before making a nomination (see download link below)

To nominate you can either:

-  Fill out out an online form. You will need to log in or create an account. 

Contact details for an independent referee must be provided. The referee will be contacted by email to provide an endorsement. 

Download a manual form, complete and send by email or post. 

Before submitting the form, an independent referee will need to add an endorsement and sign the form.

If submitting by email, please complete the form using Adobe Reader and sign the form using either the Digital Signature or Fill & Sign functions. 

Specialist Groups Recommendations?

Recommendations from the Society’s Specialist Groups are particularly welcome for the Specialist Awards.

Who selects the winners?

The Honours, Medals and Awards Committee makes recommendations, in consultation with an International Panel, to the Council of the Society. The final decision rests with the Council. The Committee is chaired by Air Cdre Bill Tyack CBE FRAeS.

What is the procedure for nominations?

1) All sections of the nomination form must be completed.
2) All completed nomination forms are acknowledged.
3) The Committee will consider all nominations.
4) The Committee will then put forward a list of recommended nominations to the Council of the Society, for consideration and approval.
5) The successful nominee will be informed of their award.
6) All proposers notified of the outcome of their nomination.

Who can I contact?

You can contact us at awards@aerosociety.com or by telephone: +44 (0) 20 7670 4321.

Medals and Awards Committee

Members of the Royal Aeronautical Society's Medals and Awards Committee are leading national figures in aeronautics and aerospace. They are supported by an International Adjudication Panel (IAP), in arriving at recommendations for decision by the Council of the Society. The expertise of both the Committee and the IAP encompasses:

1) The international aerospace industry
2) Aerospace research or education
3) Government or the armed forces

Membership of the Committee

Air Cdre Bill Tyack CBE FRAeS (Chairman)
Major General Neil Sexton BA(Hons) MA FRAeS
Mr Behrooz Barzegar CEng MRAeS
Mr Peter Davison AMRAeS
Mr Lambert Dopping-Hepenstal BSc CEng FREng FIET FRAeS
Mr Jeremy Graham BSc CEng FRAeS
Professor Kevin Knowles BSc(Hons) PhD CEng AFAIAA FRAeS
Mr Robert Savidge CEng FRAeS