The RAeS Honours, Medals and Awards are the most prestigious and long-standing awards in global aerospace, and honour achievement, innovation and excellence from across the world.

The Royal Aeronautical Society celebrated the 2016 Medals, Awards, Scholarships and Written Paper Prize winners at a special 150th anniversary ceremony on 28 November 2016 at the Society HQ, No.4 Hamilton Place in Mayfair.

Since 1909 only 70 Society Gold Medals have been awarded in all and only 7 in the last 10 years. The Gold Medal is awarded for work of an outstanding nature in aerospace. This year, Mr Frank Kirkland CEng FRAeS was presented the prestigious Society Gold Medal by the Society’s President Professor Chris Atkin.

Gold Medal 2017 - Frank Kirkland Rolls Royce.jpg

Mr Frank Kirkland CEng FRAeS, Chief Designer & Senior Fellow, Mechanical Integration, Rolls-Royce UK was awarded this year’s Gold medal in recognition of the exceptional work that has characterised his distinguished career, delivering substantial advances in commercial aero gas turbine engine design.

Mr Brian Phillipson FRAeS, Consultant at Marshall Aerospace & Defence Group was awarded the Society Silver Medal in recognition of his work throughout a distinguished engineering career spanning the Air and Naval sectors of the UK defence industry. He has made significant contributions to the advancement of technology across a wide range of major programmes and these have had a lasting impact on the industry.

Mr John Edgley CEng FRAeS, Director at Aeroelvira was awarded the Society Silver Medal in recognition of his work and leadership as Chairman of the RAeS General Aviation Specialist Group, which has campaigned for the introduction of a new experimental category of airworthiness approval in the UK. This new category, known as E Conditions, has now been incorporated into the 2016 amendment to the Air Navigation Order, thus creating the right conditions for a resurgence of light aircraft design and manufacturing in the UK. The award also recognises his leadership and flair for innovation and management in light aircraft design and manufacture.

Mr Andrew Bradford, Sector Head, Air Launched Air Defence Missiles, MBDA was awarded the Society Bronze Medal in recognition of his pivotal role in the development of three world-leading missile programmes, the Advanced Short Range Air to Air Missile (ASRAAM), Dual Mode Brimstone, and the 6 Nation Beyond Visual Range Air-to-Air missile (BVRAAM), Meteor. This award also recognises his various contributions in developing and delivering enhanced capability that contributed to outstanding operational success in his roles as Head of Brimstone and Meteor Chief Engineer.

Bronze Medal 2017 - Stephen Reed.jpg

Dr Stephen Reed CEng FRAeS, Fellow, Strucutral Integrity and Ageing Aircraft, Dstl was awarded the Society Bronze Medal for his contributions as the driving force behind applied research programmes to bring a greater understanding of ageing aircraft issues to fleet operators and regulatory authorities. This has delivered significant benefit both nationally and to the world-wide aerospace community. One critical achievement meriting particular mention is his pioneering use of retired aircraft as ageing aircraft programme laboratories to support the continuing airworthiness of the current in-service UK military fleet. His Bronze Medal is accompanied by the Airworthiness & Maintenance Specialist Group Award for an important contribution in the specialist discipline of airworthiness & maintenance.

Winners of the Society's 2017 Specialist Awards, Young Persons Achievement Awards and the Written Paper Prizes include aerospace professionals from BAE Systems, Bombardier, Dstl, Finmeccanica, Lockheed Martin, Marshall Aerospace & Defence Group, MDBA, the RAF, Rolls-Royce, Safran and many other organisations.

View the full list of 2016 Winners in the Brochure.

Do you know an individual or a team who has made an outstanding contribution in the global aerospace industry? Why not nominate them for an award? Anyone can make a nomination and anyone can be nominated, regardless of whether they are associated either directly or indirectly with the Society. For more information please visit or contact Scott Phillips on +44 (0)20 7670 4303.

Jessica Tee
1 February 2017