The US is to ban passengers on US-bound flights originating from airports in ten Middle East and North African countries from carrying electronic devices larger than a mobile phone as hand luggage in the aircraft cabin.

The ban affects flights from airports in Egypt, Jordan, Kuwait, Morocco, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Turkey and the United Arab Emirates. The UK has said that it is due to announce a similar ban.

21 March 2017